Food information, tips, cookbook reviews and resources
Updated: Mar 5, 2019
I follow a modified anti-inflammatory diet. I began by consulting a nutritionist who gave me broad guidelines and studies .to read relating to anti-inflammatory and autoimmune diseases.
As a result I cut out all meat and dairy products, I stay away from overly processed foods and I'm now gluten-free. I am not Vegan though, as I still eat eggs, fish and sea food.
'Oh She Glows' cookbooks (3)
This series of cookbooks is among my favourite by Angela Liddon.
The Oh She Glows Cookbook is a vegan cookbook with delicious recipes that you will also be able to serve to your meat and potato loving friends and family. Ms. Liddon also offers great tips on how to make or substitute some favourite or hard to find food items. Note that some recipes require a lot of prep time.
'Know What to Eat: Arthritis and Inflammation: 21 Days of Menus'
This book is part of a series on different health issues. I really like this book but if you are watching your calorie intake you have to be careful. If you eat everything that is suggested in day you can easily exceed the recommended number of calories per day. I either left out the snacks altogether or took some of them as meals. The recipes are delicious.
*Learn to read the labels on packaging. As a rule of thumb you should be able to read and understand all the ingredients of a product. The longer its shelf life, the more likely it is to include to include artificial preservatives or ingredients that may be unhealthy.
If you are dairy-free you have to be extra careful, because lactose-free is often confused with dairy-free, but they are different. Lactose is a sugar found in milk, but for some people it is proteins, such as casein that they are intolerant to.
As for gluten, we must also be careful. But what is gluten? Gluten comes from the Latin "glue", it is the general name for proteins found in wheat, rye, barley and triticale - a cross between wheat and rye. It gives cohesion to the dough. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even those that are not expected. The majority of beers contain barley. I do not suffer from celiac disease so I can buy products which 'may contain wheat'. This mention is usually placed on a product label by the manufacturer to protect itself against legal action because it can produce foods that contain gluten in the same environment. It is always important to consult your doctor or health professional to make sure what is best for you.